The Red Lines Page

November 29, 2009

Top Tennant

Filed under: Audios,drwho,Pest Control,press — Peter A @ 6:08 pm

Still on sale!APA logoNews just in… well, it was news to me, thanks to David Darlington, who sent me the December newsletter from the Audiobook Publishing Association.

The announcement actually happened two months ago at the Chiswick Book Festival. The competition was announced in July, as I may have mentioned. And there was also an article in The Independent about the nominations here.

Anyway, thanks to participating members of the public, Pest Control was voted in the Top Ten. Thank you voters! Fellow nominees who didn’t make the Top Ten were Cormack McCarthy, Julian Fellowes, Duncan Bannatyne, the late E M Forster, Barack Obama, and Paddington Bear.

There were three categories – fiction, non-fiction, and children’s. About four and a half thousand members of the public voted on a list of twenty titles that had been selected from over one hundred titles entered by audio publishers. The panel’s selections were based on excellence in several criteria: quality of literary content, abridgement, reading, production value and sound quality.

The winner of the fiction category was Tea Time for the Traditionally Built by Alexander McCall Smith, read by Adjoa Andoh (published by Hachette). Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book (Bloomsbury) topped the children’s chart. And the overall winner was Dear Fatty, the audiobook of Dawn French’s autobiography, read by Liza Tarbuck and published by Random House.

Full results:

  • Dear Fatty by Dawn French read by Liza Tarbuck (Random House) – Overall Winner
  • The Graveyard Book written and read by Neil Gaiman (Bloomsbury) – Children’s Winner
  • Tea Time for the Traditionally Built by Alexander McCall Smith read by Adjoa Andoh (Hachette Digital) – Fiction Winner
  • Doctor Who : Pest Control by Peter Anghelides read by David Tennant (BBC Audio)
  • Devil May Care by Sebastian Faulks read by Jeremy Northam (Penguin)
  • A Room with a View by E M Forster read by Juliet Stevenson (CSA Word)
  • Slumdog Millionaire by Vikas Swarup read by Kerry Shale (Harper Collins)
  • The Last Fighting Tommy by Harry Patch read by Alan Howard (Hachette Digital)
  • The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga read by Kerry Shale (Orion)
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy read by Rupert Degas (Naxos)

Before I get too excited, I should note that this inaugural award was initiated by Agile Marketing, and featured “the very best in audio publishing from January 2008 – March 2009”. But it’s always lovely to have recognition for something I’ve written, and I’m grateful therefore to my publishers for nominating me, the judging panel for shortlisting me, and the public for voting.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: